
MINTHIS GOLF CLUB – LOCAL RULES

1. OUT OF BOUNDS (Rule 18.2)
Out of bounds is defined by the line between the course side points at ground level of white stakes. Out of 
bounds is also defined by boundary walls, fences and hedges.

2. PENALTY AREAS (Rule 17)
Penalty areas are defined by red stakes or red lines. The extents of concrete penalty areas are defined by the 
walls/concrete, the extent of all other penalty areas are defined by the line of stakes. If a ball comes to rest in 
the penalty area of the 15th hole (island green) the player has two options only: they may play the original or 
another ball from where the previous stroke was made (see Rule 14.6) or play from the designated drop zone.

3. NO PLAY ZONES
‘A no-play zone is marked with BLUE/YELLOW/RED stakes with GREEN tops and is a defined part of an 
abnormal course condition or a penalty area area where play is not allowed and entry to this area is 
prohibited.
For  a  no-play  zone  defined  by  BLUE  stakes  with  GREEN  tops,  FREE  relief  MUST  be  taken  from
interference by the no-play zone under Rule 16.

For a no-play zone defined by YELLOW/RED stakes with GREEN tops, relief MUST be taken from interference by 
the no-play zone under Rule 17.1e.

4. GROUND UNDER REPAIR 
Ground under repair is defined by BLUE stakes (without a GREEN top), WHITE lines and/or a GUR sign.

5. ABNORMAL GROUND CONDITIONS INCLUDING IMMOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS (Rule 16)
5a) all concrete/artificially  surfaced paths and adjacent edges 
5b) course furniture including signs, ball washers and bells
5c) halfway house/toilet block
5d) obstructions on a players line of play that are within 2 club lengths of a putting green, and also within 2 
club lengths of the ball
5e) staked trees and trees with stakes adjacent
5f) erosional damage in bunkers caused by running water washouts
5g) irrigation/drainage pipes and covers

6. MOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS (Rule 24.1)
Stones in bunkers, bunker rakes and all stakes on the course with the exception of boundary markers and out 
of bounds stakes.

8. INTEGRAL PARTS OF THE COURSE
All non-artificial surfaces access roads and paths is gravel, stoned or hardcore.

7. TEMPORARY LOCAL RULES
Please check the notice board for any temporary local rules.

8. EVACUATION PROCEDURE
Immediate suspension of play for a dangerous situation will be signalled by one prolonged note from
an air horn. All other suspensions will be signalled by three consecutive notes from an air horn. In
either case, resumption of play will be signalled by two consecutive notes from an air horn. Rule 5.7b

7. ETIQUETTE
For matters of safety, please have regard for your fellow players and greenkeeping staff at all times. As
a courtesy, please repair ball pitch-marks, replace divots and rake bunkers.

PENALTY FOR BREACH OF LOCAL RULE: MATCH PLAY - LOSS OF HOLE AND IN STROKE PLAY – GENERAL 
PENALY (2 STROKES)
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FAQ 1: What am I allowed to do if my ball lands on the stones in 
the hazard surrounding the island green?

Applicable Rule(s): Local Rule 2 (Penalty Areas)

If a ball comes to rest in the penalty area of the island green   hole the player has two options 
only: they may play the original or another ball from where the previous stroke was made 
(see Rule 14.6) or play from the designated drop zone.

Answer:
What the local rule means is that you have two options (and only two options), both of which incur a
penalty of one stroke. You may:

1. drop a ball as near as possible to the spot from where you played the ball that ended up in the
water. This is commonly known as “Stroke and Distance”, or

2. drop the ball in the dropping zone (see also FAQ 2), or

You do not have the option that is normally available with a water hazard, namely going as far back as
you wish on a line keeping the point at which the ball last crossed the boundary of the hazard in line
with the hole. Nor do you have the option of entering the hazard and playing the ball as it lies.

If it was your tee-shot that ended up in the hazard and you elect to use the “stroke and distance”
option instead of using the dropping zone, you may play the new ball  from anywhere within the
teeing ground and may tee-up the ball. Note that the “teeing ground’’ is the rectangular area two
club-lengths in depth, the front and sides of which are defined by the outside limits of the two tee-
markers. 

An extreme example of this could be that you are over-zealous in putting a ball that is on the green
and manage to send it all the way across the green and into the water. You still have only two options,
at the cost of a penalty stroke, you either use the dropping zone, or you place another ball on the
putting green (you never drop a ball on the putting green) as close as possible to where the previous
ball was when you putted it.

Please  be  aware  that  the  drainage  ditch  on  the  13th hole  is  not  part  of  the  water  hazard  that
surrounds the green and as such the “normal” rules for dropping the ball apply. If a ball lands in here,
the dropping zone is not an option.
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FAQ 2: If I drop a ball in a drop zone and it rolls outside the zone 
do I have to re-drop it?

Applicable Rule(s): Model Local Rule E1 (Dropping Zones)

The following points apply when dropping a ball in a dropping zone:

• The  player  does  not  have  to  stand  in  the  dropping  zone  when
dropping the ball.

•  When a player is using a dropping zone, the relief area is defined
by that dropping zone and the ball must be dropped in and come to
rest in the dropping zone (see Rule 14.3).

•  If the dropping zone is defined by a line on the ground, the line is
inside the dropping zone.

Answer:
Yes.
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FAQ 3: In the past I've had conflicting advice, what is the correct 
procedure for taking a "free drop"? 

Applicable Rule(s): Rule 16 (Relief from Abnormal Course Conditions 
(Including Immovable Obstructions), Dangerous Animal 
Condition, Embedded Ball)

Nearest Point of Relief (taken from the Rules of Golf)

The “nearest point of relief” is the reference point for taking relief without penalty
from interference by an immovable obstruction, an abnormal ground condition or a
wrong putting green. It is the point on the course nearest to where the ball lies:

(i) that is not nearer the hole, and

(ii) where, if the ball were so positioned, no interference by the condition from which
relief  is  sought  would exist  for  the stroke the player would have made from the
original position if the condition were not there

Answer:
The following diagram (courtesy of the R&A) illustrates the term “nearest point of relief”  in the case
of  a  right-handed player.  It  shows two ball  positions (B

1
 and B

2
)  on a road or in GUR and their

respective nearest point of relief (P
1
 and P

2
)as an example. Instead of a road/GUR it could just as well

be a staked tree or a sprinkler head or any immovable obstruction.

The simple answer is that you drop within one club-length of the nearest point of relief (the grey area
shown above) and the ball come to rest in that area. The ball is dropped from knee height.
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There are conditions attached to dropping the ball depending upon where the original ball lay. e.g.
the ball must be re-dropped if it:

1. rolls into and comes to rest in a hazard;

2. rolls out of and comes to rest outside a hazard;

3. rolls onto and comes to rest on a putting green;

4. rolls and comes to rest out of bounds;

5. rolls and comes to rest in a position where there is interference by the condition from which
relief was taken;

6. rolls and comes to rest further than one club-length from the nearest point of relief;

7. rolls and comes to rest closer to the hole than the nearest point of relief.

Note that if you are taking a “free drop” in a bunker, the dropped ball must remain in the bunker. If
there is nowhere in the bunker to drop (e.g. it is completely full of water) then you may drop outside
the bunker, but at the cost of a penalty stroke.

If your original ball was on the course but not on the putting green of the hole being played you
cannot drop the ball on the putting green.

One last  important point –  you cannot  claim a  “free  drop”  from interference  by  an  immovable
obstruction if that interference would occur only through use of a clearly unreasonable stroke, or an
unnecessarily abnormal stance, swing or direction of play.
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FAQ 4: Some trees have stakes next to them, but aren't 
connected to them, can I still get relief?

Applicable Rule(s): Local Rule 5e (Immovable Obstructions)

Answer:
Yes.

The relevant point in local rule 4 is:

5e) Staked trees and trees with stakes adjacent – relief must be taken.
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FAQ 5: If my ball lands in a bunker that is GUR do I have to drop 
the ball back in front of the bunker?

Applicable Rule(s): Rule 16 (Relief from Abnormal Course Conditions 
(Including Immovable Obstructions), Dangerous Animal 
Condition, Embedded Ball)

Answer:
Not necessarily.

There is nothing special about a bunker that has been designated “ground under repair” as opposed
to any other abnormal ground condition.

Quite a few people mistakenly believe that the point at which the ball entered the bunker needs to be
taken into consideration. It doesn't, unless you can't find the ball.

You simply determine the nearest point of relief from where the ball lies in the bunker and follow the
procedure described in FAQ 3.

FAQs Revision 1.1



FAQ 6: Do I get relief if my ball is touching the wall of the 
drainage ditch in front of the 17th green?

Applicable Rule(s): Local Rule 2 (Penalty Areas)

Penalty areas are defined by red or yellow stakes or lines. The extents of concrete penalty 
areas are defined by the walls/concrete, the extent of all other penalty areas are defined by 
the line of stakes.

Definition ([Immovable] Obstructions)
The relevant part the definition is:

Any artificial object except for integral objects and boundary objects.
Examples of obstructions:
Stakes, walls, railings and fences (but not when they are boundary objects that 
define or show the boundary edge of the course),

Answer:
No.

The wall is part of the hazard and since the ball is touching the hazard it is by definition in the hazard
and as such you do not get relief from any immovable obstructions.

If  however  your  ball  was  not touching the wall  and not in the penalty  area and the wall  would
physically interfere with your stance or your swing  then you can obtain relief without penalty. You
should drop the ball following the procedure described in FAQ 3. 

Also, note the wording in point c) of Local Rule 2. The stakes for this type of penalty area are not part
of the penalty area itself, they are only there to tell you whether the hazard is a water hazard (yellow)
or a lateral water hazard (red). So if your ball comes to rest behind the stakes but is not touching the
wall or in the ditch then it is not in the penalty area and so it is highly likely that you will be able to
claim relief without penalty.

One other point about the stakes – the stakes are movable obstructions (Local Rule 6) so they may be
removed to play a shot from within the hazard, e.g. if your ball is on top of the wall and you elect to
play it from there.
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FAQ 7: a) Someone told me you can't hold the flagstick while 
tapping in a two inch putt, is that right?

b) Someone I was playing with removed an out-of-bounds 
stake. When I told him that wasn't allowed he replaced it 
before playing his shot, what is the ruling on this?

Applicable Rule(s): a) Rule 4-3a (Unusual Use of Equipment.   Allowed and 
Prohibited Uses of Equipment)

Applicable Rule(s): b) Local Rule 6 (Movable Obstructions)

b) Rule 8 (Improving Conditions Affecting the Stroke)

Answer:
a) Not necessarily.

You may hold the flagstick while you putt out without penalty provided that you hold it in the air and
do not rest it on the ground. If you do rest it on the ground then you are in breach of rule 4-3 the
penalty for which Is the general penalty (2strokes) for the first occuence and disqualification fo
further breaches of this rule!

b) He incurs a two-stroke penalty (or loss of hole if it was matchplay).

Objects defining out of bounds are fixed, not movable obstructions, and so may not be moved. The
player was in breach of Rule 13-2 the moment he moved the post and there was nothing he could
then do to avoid the penalty. The replacement of the post before the next stroke was irrelevant.
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FAQ 8: a) In greensomes what do you do if both players on a 
team drive their ball out of bounds?

b) In foursomes what do you do if player does an "air 
shot"?

Applicable Rule(s): Rule 22.3 (Side must alternate in taking shots)

In a threesome or a foursome, during any stipulated round the partners must 
play alternately from the teeing grounds and alternately during the play of each 
hole. Penalty strokes do not affect the order of play.

Answer:
a) You nominate one of the balls as the one you choose and if it is Player-A's ball then Player-B
plays the next shot and vice-versa.

If in this instance it is a mixed greensomes and Player-A is a man, then his lady partner must play the
next shot from the men's tee from which he played.

The Rules of  Golf  do not mention “greensomes” specifically,  but greensomes is  a special  case of
foursomes once both players have teed-off and nominated their chosen ball.

b) If Player-A did the “air-shot” then Player-B must play the next stroke and vice-versa.

An “air-shot” is a stroke, since the player intended to strike the ball, so the rule of alternate strokes
means that the player's partner must play the next shot.

However, if Player-A deliberately did an “air shot” (e.g. to give his team some sort of advantage – say
when playing over water), then he has not made a stroke and if Player-B takes the next shot he has
played out of turn and would incur a 2-stroke penalty (or loss of hole in matchplay). In strokeplay, if
before teeing off on the next hole Player-A did not play the ball from where Player B hit it, their team
would be disqualified.
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FAQ 9: a) Are you allowed to remove leaves and sand from a 
putting green even if your ball is not on the green?

b) Are you allowed to remove sand on a green using the 
palm of your hand?

Applicable Rule(s): a) Rule 8.1b (Actions that are allowed) 

b) Rule 13.1c (Improvements Allowed on Putting Green) 

Answer:
a) Yes.

Leaves (stones, twigs branches, dung, worms, insects and the casts and heaps made by them) are
natural objects and as such, provided they are not fixed or growing, solidly embedded or adhering to
the ball, they are loose impediments.

Snow and NATURAL ice, other than frost, are either casual water or loose impediments, at the option
of the player.

Dew and frost are NOT loose impediments.

Sand and loose soil are loose impediments on the putting green, but not elsewhere.

b) Yes.

If in removing loose impediments from the green you cause the surface to be roughened then, so
long as it was not your intention to test the surface of the green, there is no penalty, provided of
course that you did not press anything down.
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FAQ 10: If I go to the drop zone on the 10th hole, hit my ball, then 
after hitting it a second time it goes into the penalty area 
to the left of the fairway, where can I take relief.

Answer:
Since this area is marked with yellow stakes with green tops it is a no-play zone, and since it is almost
certainly impossible to position yourself not nearer the hole on a line connecting the point where the
ball crossed the boundary of the no-play zone and the hole, you have two options.

Option 1: take “stroke and distance” relief and play a ball fro where you previously played the ball
that is in the no-play zone.

Option 2: go back to the drop zone and play the ball from there.

Both these options incur a 1-stroke penalty.
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FAQ 11: What are my options if I hit my ball off the 8th tee into the 
protected area in front of that tee?

Answer:
The protected area is classed as ground under repair. You therefore get relief without penalty.

If the ball is found then locate the nearest point of relief from there. If you cannot find ball then
locate the nearest point of relief from where it entered the area. Then follow the procedure detailed
in FAQ 3. Don't forget, the nearest point of relief may not necessarily be between the tee and the
protected area.

If the ball cannot be found then you have to know or be virtually certain that it is in the protected
area in order to get relief. 

Another option is to use “stroke and distance” at the cost of one penalty stroke. In this case you go
back to the teeing ground, and “play 3 off the tee”. In this case you have the option of teeing up the
ball if you wish.
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